PMS Exam Guide

PMS Exam in Pakistan complete information

What is PMS?

PMS stands for Provincial Management Service. It's a competing exam being administered by the provincial government of Pakistan through its Commissions namely Punjab Public Service Commission (PPSC), Sindh Public Service Commission (SPSC), Balochistan Public Service Commission (BPSC), Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Public Service Commission (KPSC), Azad Jammu & Kashmir Public Service Commission (AJKPSC). Candidates have to clear the PMS test counting a written test, psychology test, and interview; who passed these PMS tests are awarded government jobs as First Class Officer (Grade 17). An officer passing this exam is called PMS Officer.


PMS is one of the government services. The PMS came into existence in 2014, in the province of Punjab against notification by the S&GAD, Government of the Punjab - Pakistan. In Pakistan, it was established by the provincial governments in a bid to improve the service structure of bureaucracy in the provinces. Though Federal Bureaucracy Pakistan Administrative Service (formerly District Management Group / DMG) predominantly controls the provincial administration in Punjab and other provinces, the Provincial Management Service Officers have also been given a considerable share of posts in Punjab. PMS consists of government-officers appointed directly in Grade-17 through a competitive exam conducted by Public Service Commission at the provincial level. PMS Officers appointed in Scale-17 get promotion in Scale-18, Scale-19, and Scale-20 as per notified Service Rules called PMS Rules, 2004. Commonly, PMS Officers are posted as Section Officer, Assistant Commissioner, Magistrate, Deputy Secretary, Additional Secretary, DCO, DG, Commissioner, Secretary, or any other equivalent post of their grade.

More about PMS

Fee Structure
Date Sheet

Don't forget to share it with your classmates